Thursday, January 12, 2017

Dutch Double-handed J/Sailors Honored!

Netherlands Two-handed sailors at awards (Nieuwegein, The Netherlands)- The annual awards ceremony of the Dutch Sailing Federation honored the top two-handed sailors in the Dutch offshore circuit.

For the annual Shorthanded Awards, sailors nominate candidates for the Double Handed and Solo Challenge Award, and the committee, consisting of Chairman Sander Bakker Erik van Vuuren, Hans Bourscholte and Luke Schroeder, review the nominations and select and designate a winner.

J/120 sailing double-handed in NetherlandsFor the Double Handed Awards, the jury proposed three nominations:
  • John van der Starre and Robin Verhoef for winning the Two-handed sailing series and prepping their new J/122 AJETO for the best possible performance shorthanded.
  • Yvonne Beusker and Erik van Vuuren for winning the North Sea Race with their J/105 PANTHER and for Yvonne lobbying at the World Sailing Congress in Barcelona to integrate the first Two-handed class in the World Sailing Cup.
  • Chris Schram, Raymond Roesink and Ken Parson. Raymond and Chris were on the podium a whopping nine times during the 2016 Dutch Two-handed circuit.  And, Chris and Ken Parson, also placed in many races in the English RORC circuit.
For the jury, it was not an easy decision and they had to take into account not only the team’s performance, but also their passion and dedication to sailing, both on the water and on shore.

As a result, in the fast-growing doublehanded discipline, Chris Schram's J/120 MAVERICK won the 2016 Dutch Doublehanded Award, for best overall performance during the season (competing with Raymond Roesink) and for their impressive performance in the RORC 2H Series (with Ken Parsons as co-skipper).  For more Dutch Two-handed series sailing information